Faculty

Participating Departments and Faculty

Students may choose to participate in this training program by being admitted first to Northwestern through the IBiS Program (Interdepartmental Biological Sciences Program), the Biomedical Engineering Department, the Department of Chemistry, the Department of Materials Science and Engineering or the Chemical Biological Engineering Department. Most current training faculty participate in the IBiS Program through their primary department or unit (Molecular Biosciences, BME, or ChBE).


Participating Faculty Preceptors
Amaral Luis A. N. Amaral
Professor
Chemical Biological Engineering
Email: amaral@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7850 Fax: (847) 491-7070
Ameer Guillermo A. Ameer
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Email: g-ameer@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-6719 Fax: (847) 491-4928
Erik Andersen
Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: erik.andersen@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-4382 Fax: (847) 467-1380
Backman Vadim Backman
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Email: v-backman@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3536 Fax: (847) 491-4928
Neda Bagheri
Neda Bagheri
Assistant Professor
Chemical Biological Engineering
Email: n-bagheri@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-2716
Brickner Jason Brickner
Associate Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: j-brickner@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-0210 Fax: (847) 467-1380
Broadbelt Linda J. Broadbelt
Chair and Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: broadbelt@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7398 Fax: (847) 491-3728
Broadbelt Richard Carthew
Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: r-carthew@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847)Fax: (847)
Dravid
Vinayak P. Dravid
Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
Email: v-dravid@northwestern.edu
Phone
Hartmann Mitra Hartmann
Associate Professor
Biomedical and Mechanical Engineering
Email: m-hartmann@northwestern.edu
Phone
Hersam Mark C. Hersam
Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
Email: m-hersam@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820
Jewett Mike Jewett
Assistant Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-5007 Fax: (847) 491-3728
Joester Derk Joester
Associate Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
Email: d-joester@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820
Kelleher Neil Kelleher
Professor
Chemistry
Email: n-kelleher@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-4362 Fax: (847) 491-7713
kiser Patrick Kiser
Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering and Obstetrics and Gynecology
Email: patrick.kiser@northwestern.edu
Carole LaBonne
Arthur E. Andersen Research/Training Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: clabonne@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-4165 Fax: (847) 467-1380
Lamb Robert A. Lamb
John Evans Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: ralamb@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-5433 Fax: (847) 491-2467
Larson Andrew C. Larson
Professor
Radiology and Biomedical Engineering
Email: a-larson@northwestern.edu
Phone: (312) 926-3499
leonard Josh Leonard
Assistant Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: j-leonard@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7455 Fax: (847) 491-3728
Linsenmeier Robert A. Linsenmeier
Professor
Biomedical Engineering, Neurobiology, and Ophthalmology
Email: r-linsenmeier@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-467-1213 Fax: 847-491-4928
Liu Shu Q. Liu
Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Email: sliu@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-2946 Fax: (847) 491-4928
Julius Lucks Julius Lucks
Associate Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: jblucks@northwestern.edu
Phone:
Meade Thomas J. Meade
Professor
Chemistry
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-2481 Fax: (847) 491-3832
Messersmith Phillip B. Messersmith
Adjunct Professor
Materials Science Engineering
Email: philm@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-5273
William Miller William M. Miller
Professor
Chemical Biological Engineering
Email: wmmiller@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-4828 Fax: (847) 491-3728
Mirkin Chad A. Mirkin
George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry
Chemistry
Email: chadnano@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-7302
Milan
Milan Mrksich
Henry Wade Rogers Professor
Biomedical Enginering, Chemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology
Email: milan.mrksich@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-0472
Morimoto Richard I. Morimoto
Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Cell Biology
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3340 Fax: (847) 491-4461
Odom Teri W. Odom
Professor
Chemistry/Materials Science Engineering
Email:todom@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7674 Fax: (847) 491-7713
Nguyen Sonbinh Nguyen
Professor
Chemistry
Email: stn@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-3347
O'Halloran Thomas V. O'Halloran
Morrison Professor of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
Chemistry
Email: t-ohalloran@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-5060
Olveradelacruz Monica Olvera de la Cruz
Professor
Materials Science Engineering, Chemistry and (by courtesy) Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: m-olvera@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820
Heather Pinkett Heather Pinkett
Associate Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: h-pinkett@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-4048
Scheidt Karl A. Scheidt
Professor
Chemistry
Email: scheidt@chem.northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-6659 Fax: (847) 467-7713
evan-scott Evan Scott
Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Email evan.scott@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-6719
Shah Ramille Shah
Assistant Professor
Materials Science and Engineering and Department of Surgery, Feinberg School of Medicine
Email: ramille-shah@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820
Shea Lonnie D. Shea
Adjunct Professor
Chemical Biological Engineering
Email: l-shea@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7043 Fax: (847) 491-3728
Shull Kenneth Shull
Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
Email: k-shull@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820
Silverman Richard B. Silverman
Charles Deering McCormick Professor
Chemistry
Email: agman@chem.northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-5653
Statsyuk Alexander Statsyuk
Assistant Professor
Chemistry
Email: a-statsyuk@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-1875 Fax: (847) 467-1380
Stupp Samuel I. Stupp
Board of Trustees
Professor of Materials Science, Chemistry, Medicine
Email: s-stupp@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3002 Fax: (847) 491-3010
Szleifer Igal Szleifer
Christina Enroth-Cugell Chair of Biomedical Engineering
Biomedical Engineering and (by courtesy) Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: igalsz@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-467-1213 Fax: 847-491-4928
Danielle Tullman-Ercek

Danielle Tullman-Ercek
Associate Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: ercek@northwestern.edu Phone: (847)-491-7043

Tyo

Keith E.J. Tyo
Assistant Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: k-tyo@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7398 Fax: (847) 491-3728

Stupp Eric L. Weiss
Associate Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: elweiss@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7034 Fax: (847) 491-1380

Jason Wertheim
Assistant Professor in Surgery-Organ Transplantation,

Feinberg School of Medicine
Email: jason.wertheim@northwestern.edu
Phone: (312) 695-8900 Fax:

Wignall Sadie Wignall
Assistant Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: s-wignall@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-0386 Fax: (847) 491-1380
Woodruff Teresa Woodruff
Professor
Neurobiology and Physiology
Email: tkw@northwestern.edu
Phone: (312) 503-2504 Fax: (312) 503-0189
Hao F Zhang

Hao F. Zhang
Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Email: hfzhang@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-2946

Students from any unit of NU may petition to have as a professor other faculty whose research activities fall within the broader definition of biotechnology.