Faculty

Participating Departments and Faculty

Students may choose to participate in this training program by being admitted first to Northwestern through the IBiS Program (Interdepartmental Biological Sciences Program), the Biomedical Engineering Department, the Department of Chemistry, the Department of Materials Science and Engineering or the Chemical Biological Engineering Department. Most current training faculty participate in the IBiS Program through their primary department or unit (Molecular Biosciences, BME, or ChBE).


Participating Faculty Preceptors
Amaral Luis A. N. Amaral
Professor
Chemical Biological Engineering
Email: amaral@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7850 Fax: (847) 491-7070
Ameer Guillermo A. Ameer
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Email: g-ameer@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-6719 Fax: (847) 491-4928
Erik Andersen
Assistant Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: erik.andersen@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-4382 Fax: (847) 467-1380
Backman Vadim Backman
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Email: v-backman@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3536 Fax: (847) 491-4928
Neda Bagheri Neda Bagheri
Assistant Professor
Chemical Biological Engineering
Email: n-bagheri@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-2716
Xiaomin Bao
Assistant Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: xiaomin.bao@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-1833
Brickner Jason Brickner
Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: j-brickner@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-0210 Fax: (847) 467-1380
Broadbelt Linda J. Broadbelt
Professor, Associate Dean for Research
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: broadbelt@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7398 Fax: (847) 491-3728
Dravid Vinayak P. Dravid
Professor, Director of NUANCE Center
Materials Science and Engineering
Email: v-dravid@northwestern.edu
Nathan C. Gianneschi
Professor
Chemistry, Materials Science and Engineering, Biomedical Engineering
Email: nathan.gianneschi@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-2106
Hartmann Mitra Hartmann
Professor
Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering
Email: m-hartmann@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-4633
Hersam Mark C. Hersam
Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
Email: m-hersam@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820
Jewett Mike Jewett
Associate Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-5007 Fax: (847) 491-3728
Joester Derk Joester
Associate Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
Email: d-joester@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820
Kelleher Neil Kelleher
Professor
Chemistry
Email: n-kelleher@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-4362 Fax: (847) 491-7713
kiser Patrick Kiser
Professor
Biomedical Engineering, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Email: patrick.kiser@northwestern.edu
Carole LaBonne
Arthur E. Andersen Research/Training Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: clabonne@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-4165 Fax: (847) 467-1380
leonard Josh Leonard
Associate Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: j-leonard@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7455 Fax: (847) 491-3728
Julius Lucks Julius Lucks
Associate Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: jblucks@northwestern.edu
Phone:
Meade Thomas J. Meade
Professor
Chemistry
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-2481 Fax: (847) 491-3832
William Miller William M. Miller
Professor
Chemical Biological Engineering
Email: wmmiller@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-4828 Fax: (847) 491-3728
Mirkin Chad A. Mirkin
Professor
Chemistry
Email: chadnano@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-7302
Morimoto Richard I. Morimoto
Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Cell Biology
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3340 Fax: (847) 491-4461
Milan
Milan Mrksich
Professor
Biomedical Enginering, Chemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology
Email: milan.mrksich@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-0472
Nguyen Sonbinh Nguyen
Professor
Chemistry
Email: stn@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-3347
O'Halloran Thomas V. O'Halloran
Professor
Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
Email: t-ohalloran@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-5060
Odom Teri W. Odom
Professor, Associate Chair
Chemistry/Materials Science Engineering
Email:todom@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7674 Fax: (847) 491-7713
Olveradelacruz Monica Olvera de la Cruz
Professor
Materials Science Engineering, Chemistry and (by courtesy) Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: m-olvera@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820

Christian Petersen
Associate Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: christian-p-petersen@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-3553

Heather Pinkett Heather Pinkett
Associate Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: h-pinkett@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-4048
Amy Rosenzweig
Professor
Molecular Biology, and Chemistry
Email: amyr@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-5301
evan-scott Evan Scott
Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Email evan.scott@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-6719
Shah Ramille Shah
Assistant Professor
Materials Science and Engineering and Department of Surgery, Feinberg School of Medicine
Email: ramille-shah@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820
Shull Kenneth Shull
Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
Email: k-shull@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3537 Fax: (847) 491-7820
Silverman Richard B. Silverman
Professor
Chemistry
Email: agman@chem.northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-5653
Stupp Samuel I. Stupp
Board of Trustees Professor
Professor of Materials Science, Chemistry, Medicine, Biomedical Engineering
Email: s-stupp@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-3002 Fax: (847) 491-3010
Szleifer Igal Szleifer
Christina Enroth-Cugell Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Biomedical Engineering and (by courtesy) Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: igalsz@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-467-1213 Fax: 847-491-4928
Danielle Tullman-Ercek

Danielle Tullman-Ercek
Associate Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: ercek@northwestern.edu Phone: (847)-491-7043

Tyo

Keith E.J. Tyo
Associate Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: k-tyo@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7398 Fax: (847) 491-3728

Stupp Eric L. Weiss
Associate Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: elweiss@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-7034 Fax: (847) 491-1380

Jason Wertheim
Vice Chair for Surgery, Associate Professor
Surgery, (Organ Transplantation)
Email: jason.wertheim@northwestern.edu
Phone: (312) 695-8900 Fax:

Wignall Sadie Wignall
Assistant Professor
Molecular Biosciences
Email: s-wignall@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-0386 Fax: (847) 491-1380
Hao F Zhang

Hao F. Zhang
Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Email: hfzhang@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-2946

Students from any unit of NU may petition to have as a professor other faculty whose research activities fall within the broader definition of biotechnology.